The Tangle Box

Series Magic Kingdom of Landover
Keith Parkinson
Author Terry Brooks
Year 1994
Publisher Random House
ISBN 0-09-931421-5


Everything should have been quiet and pleasant for ex-lawyer-now-sovereign of the Magic Kingdom of Landover, Ben Holiday. But it wasn’t. Horris Kew, conjurer, more recently confidence-man trickster, had returned to the Magic Kingdom from Ben’s own world, where he and his sidekick in crime, the talking bird Biggar, had gotten in just a spot of trouble with the former ‘faithful’ of their scam cult.

Continue reading for more about the book’s story, interesting links and the original painting of this classic fantasy cover!

‘Throw him into the deepest prison and throw away the key!’ insisted Questor Thews, wizard and advisor to Ben. ‘Send him away immediately,’ echoed Abernathy, the court scribe who, by an unfortunate magical mishap, bore an uncanny resemblance to a soft-coated Wheaten Terrier. ‘Horris was the one who found a way to organise cats into packs to hunt mice, but it backfired and they ended up hunting dogs.’

Nevertheless, a fair and just ruler, Ben decided to consider the repatriation of Horris and Biggar to Landover. Alas, Horris had not returned of his own volition – he had been sent by the Gorse, a sorcerer of great evil, whom Horris had unwittingly freed. Now the Gorse planned to use Horris and Biggar to help enslave the fairy folk who had once dared condemn it.

But first it had to rid Landover of all who could stand in its way. Soon Ben found himself imprisoned within the gloom of the Tangle Box, lost in its mists, its labyrinthine ways, along with a despairing lady, who might have once been the Witch Nightshade, and an unhappy gargoyle, that might have once been the dragon Strabo.

The path to the throne was clear for the Gorse. And the only one who could free Ben from the Tangle Box was lady Willow. But she had disappeared, was gone from Landover on a mysterious mission of her own…

Magic Kingdom of Landover series
Magic Kingdom for Sale–Sold! (1986)
The Black Unicorn (1987)
Wizard At Large (1988)
The Tangle Box (1994)
Witches’ Brew (1995)
A Princess of Landover (2009)

Official Terry Brooks Website
Keith Parkinson Online
The Tangle Box available on Amazon

Thanks to Still Books for the cover and to Keith Parkinson Online for the painting

One response to “The Tangle Box

Have your say...

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s